Fordham University            The Jesuit University of New York  

Back to News

Longtime Employees Honored at Annual Convocation


Longtime Employees Honored at Annual Convocation

MJoseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham, congratulates Joseph Caputo on receiving the Archbishop Hughes Medal.
Photo by Chris Taggart

By Janet Sassi

Fifty-one employees representing a combined 1,100 years of service to Fordham were honored for their long and distinguished commitment on Sunday, March 2, at the annual University Convocation, held on the Rose Hill campus.

Three members of the faculty received the Bene Merenti Medal commemorating 40-year teaching careers: Sheldon Marcus, Ed.D., professor of education; John M. Phelan, Ph.D., professor of communication and media studies and founding director of the McGannon Center; and Eva M. Stadler, Ph.D., associate professor of English and comparative literature and associate professor of communication and media studies.

The lone recipient of the Archbishop Hughes Medal for 40 years of administrative service was Joseph Caputo, supervisor of faculty support services and office manager for the Graduate School of Social Service.

Another 45 faculty members and administrators were recognized with Bene Merenti and Archbishop Hughes medals for 20 years of service to Fordham. The honors were presented by Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham.

In addition, two longstanding employees received the Sursum Corda Award, established in 2005 by Father McShane to recognize Fordham staffers who have made outstanding contributions to the life and mission of the University. They are John W. Buckley, assistant vice president for enrollment and enrollment services, and Noel Nevin, steam and refrigeration engineer in facilities operations.

“The congregation that you love and call Fordham University rightly proclaims your praise and the debt that it owes to you this afternoon,” Father McShane said. “Thank you for the great and gracious work you have done. Twenty years from now, I hope that you will still be here so that the University can again toast you and say to you and of you, let us now praise the famous, they were renown . . . they were the glory of their times. God bless you all.”

Archbishop Hughes Medal
(40-Year Award)

Joseph Caputo
Supervisor of Faculty Support Services and Office Manager
Graduate School of Social Service

Archbishop Hughes Medal
(20-Year Award)

Joseph Dubin
Coordinator of Capital Projects
Facilities Engineering

Marilyn A. Force
Director of Faculty and Internal Events
School of Law

Fred Forte
Senior Programmer/Analyst
Information Technology

Ann Gannon
Administrative Assistant
Office of the Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Elaine Gerald
Assistant Dean
Director of Admissions
Graduate School of Social Service

Michael Gillan
Fordham College of Liberal Studies

Peter Girvan
Assistant Director for Operations
Facilities Operations

Juelly Lichtmann
Budget Administrator
Graduate School of Business Administration

Nancy Baumeister McCarthy
Senior Assistant Dean
Director of Student Advising
Adjunct Professor
College of Business Administration

Robert E. McNab
Senior Programmer/Analyst
Information Technology

Frederic L. Neustadt
Assistant Director of Legal Writing
School of Law

Anna Ponterosso
Senior Associate Director of Academic Records
Enrollment Services

Rosemarie Raiano
Senior Assistant Director of Student Employment
Enrollment Services

Thomas J. Schoenherr
Assistant Dean of the Public Interest Resource Center
School of Law

Vittoria Siefring
Senior Grants Administrator
Office of the Controller

Tristan Uy
Technology Center Manager
Graduate School of Business Administration

Bene Merenti Medal
(40-Year Award)

Sheldon Marcus
Professor of Education

John M. Phelan
Founding Director of the McGannon Center
Professor of Communication and Media Studies

Eva M. Stadler
Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Associate Professor of Communication and Media Studies

Bene Merenti Medal
(20-Year Award)

German M. Martinez
Associate Professor of Theology and Liturgy

Alfred C. Holden
Associate Professor and Area Chair of Marketing

George E. Kroon
Adjunct Professor of Marketing

Paul S. Kushel
Adjunct Associate Professor of Accounting and Taxation

Frank O’Connor
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Marketing

Barbara M. Porco
Assistant Professor of Accounting
Director of Program Development

Gerald M. Cattaro
Professor of Education
Chair of the Division of Educational Leadership, Administration and Policy
Executive Director of the Center for Catholic School Leadership

Mitchell Rabinowitz
Professor of Education
Chair of the Division of Psychological and Educational Services

Elaine P. Congress
Professor of Social Work
Associate Dean for Continuing Education and Extra Mural Programs

Janna C. Heyman
Assistant Professor of Social Work
Associate Director of the Ravazzin Center for Social Work Research in Aging

Carol P. Kaplan
Associate Professor of Social Work

Eve R. Lodge
Adjunct Instructor of Social Work

Rosa Pérez-Koenig
Assistant Professor of Social Work

Virginia C. Strand
Professor of Social Work
Founding Executive Director of Children FIRST

Steven S. Thel
Maurice I. Wormser Professor of Law

Nancy Curtin
Professor of History

Joseph Dembo
Visiting Professor of Communication and Media Studies

Vincent J. Digricoli
Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer and Information Science

M. Reza Fakhari
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Political Science

Nicole Fermon
Professor of Political Science

Chris GoGwilt
Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Janusz S. Golec
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Kathryn John
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music

Ross McLaren

Sarah MacMorran Peirce
Associate Professor of Classical Languages and Civilization

Henry Schwalbenberg
Associate Professor and Chair of Economics
Director of the International Political Economy and Development Program

Shapoor Vali
Assistant Professor of Economics

Richard Viladesau
Professor of Theology

Irma Watkins-Owens
Associate Professor of African and African American Studies

Sursum Corda Award

John W. Buckley
Assistant Vice President for Enrollment
Enrollment Services

Noel Nevin
Steam and Refrigeration Engineer
Facilities Operations

More Top Stories in this issue:

Return to Top Stories index

Return to Inside Fordham home page

Copyright © 2008, Fordham University.

Site  | Directories
Submit Search Request